Official; Division One to be split

  Posted: 9 Feb 13, 10:59

By: Patrick Korir

Kenya’s second tier league the Division One will be split to help clubs alleviate cost of being in the league.

The 40 clubs attending a meeting at the Nyayo Stadium pushed their premeditated agenda and forced Football Kenya Federation (FKF) to accept the call.

Broken down

Proposed by David Maina of Zoo Kericho, the idea to have the league further broken down to help clubs save on cost sof being in the league has now been adapted.

In the 2012 season, the division one was made up of 40 teams; 20-each in Zone ‘A’ and another 20 in Zone ‘B’.

As proposed by the clubs, each of the Zones will be split in two. However, instead of having leagues of ten teams each, such that the teams per group will be 12.


The modalities how the leagues will run has been left to set committees that will work out the way forward then give recommendation to FKF.

On this front, three-man committees for either zone have been appointed; Ligi Ndogo CEO Chris Amimo, Modern Coast (Magongo) Rangers Secretary Ferdinand Ogot  a representative from the promoted Kiambakia Christian Centre (Meru) for Zone ‘A’ and Nakuru AllStars CEO Robert Muthomi, proposer David Maina from Zoo and Nzoia United newly appointed Chair Mokua Ngisa for Zone ‘B’. 


Related Articles

2017 ©