Nigeria names preliminary AFCON squad

  Posted: 22 Dec 12, 12:11

By: Patrick Korir

Nigeria’s head Coach Stephen Keshi has released a provisional list of 32 players from which he can scale down to get his final team that will represent the West African Nation at the 2013 Africa Cup of nations to be held in South Africa from 19 January 2013.

Of the 32, 18 are based in Europe and the other 14 called in from the local Premier League.

Obafemi Martins

Chelsea’s John Obi Mikel, Villareal’s Ikechukwu Uche, Victor Wanyama’s Celtic team mates Efe Ambrose and Rabiu Ibrahim are part of the list.

The once dependable Obafemi Martins, now with Levante in Spain as well as Peter Osaze Odemwingie are not in Keshi’s plans and have not been included.

Provisional list

Goalkeepers: Vincent Enyeama (Maccabi Tel Aviv, Israel); Austin Ejide (Hapoel Be’er Sheba, Israel); Chigozie Agbim (Enugu Rangers, Nigeria); Daniel Akpeyi (Heartland FC, Nigeria)

Defenders: Elderson Echiejile (FC Braga, Portugal); Juwon Oshaniwa (Ashdod FC, Israel); Benjamin Francis (Heartland FC, Nigeria); Joseph Yobo (Fenerbahce, Turkey); Efe Ambrose (Celtic FC, Scotland); Solomon Kwambe (Sunshine Stars, Nigeria); Azubuike Egwuekwe (Warri Wolves, Nigeria); Danny Shittu (Millwall FC, England); Kenneth Omeruo (ADO Den Haag, Netherlands); Godfrey Oboabona (Sunshine Stars, Nigeria)

Midfielders: Mikel Obi (Chelsea FC, England); Nosa Igiebor (Real Betis, Spain); Ogenyi Onazi (SS Lazio, Italy); Raheem Lawal (Adana Demirspor, Turkey); Obiora Nwankwo (Calcio Padova, Italy); Fegor Ogude (Valerenga, Norway); Gabriel Reuben (Kano Pillars, Nigeria); Rabiu Ibrahim (Celtic, Scotland)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Emmanuel Emenike (Spartak Moscow, Russia); Brown Ideye (Dynamo Kiev, Ukraine); Victor Moses (Chelsea FC, England); Uche Kalu (Rizespor, Turkey); Bright Dike (Portland Timbers, USA); Shola Ameobi (Newcastle FC, England); Ikechukwu Uche (Villarreal FC, Spain); Ejike Uzoenyi (Enugu Rangers, Nigeria); Sunday Mba (Enugu Rangers, Nigeria)


Related Articles

2017 ©