Mbeyu to lead Kenya Women’s team against Ethiopia

  Posted: 14 Sep 12, 15:16

By: Patrick Korir

Matuu’s top striker Esse Mbeyu Akida is set to lead the Women’s National team in an upcoming friendly against Ethiopia on a date yet to be confirmed.

Mildred Cheche

Esse who has scored 31 goals in the league is one of nine strikers named to the provisional squad that is set to hit camp on Tuesday 18 September 2012 for residential training. 

Also called up is Old is Gold’s Millicent Mwanzi who has 30 goals to her name this season as well as Moyas Ladies lead striker Mildred Cheche who has 28 goals so far in the league.

11 midfielders

Other than the nine strikers, four goal keepers have also been called up.

Eight defenders, one being former Kenya U20 captain Terry Ouko who turns out for Matuu are part of the 32 players.  

11 midfielders also make the list with the most prominent names being that of former Werder Bremen player Doreen Nabwire as well as Martha Karimi.

Most Valuable

Both played professional football in the Netherlands for league side Zwolle in the 2010 season.

Diminutive Mary toto Kinuthia who was named the Most Valuable player in the 2011 Nairobi regional as well as National Safaricom Sakata Ball also makes the shortlist.

Complete Provisional list

Goal keepers: 1. Pauline Atieno (Mathare United), 2. Samantha Akinyi (Spedag), 3. Miseta Waweru (Matuu), 4. Emilly Adhiambo (MOYAS)

Defenders: 5. Irene Adhiambo (Mbotela Kamaliza), 6. Grace Njeru (Thika Queens), 7. Josephine Omungala (Galacticos Youth), 8. Margaret Omweri (Kisii United), 9. Awuor Florence (Spedag), 10. Terry Ouko (Matuu), 11. Jackline Akoth (MOYAS), 12. Toro Bahati N (Spedag)

Midfielders: 13. Laura Khadenje (Makolanders), 14. Tabaka Chacha (MOYAS), 15. Shikobe Dorcus (Thika Queens), 16.Martha Karimi (Old is Gold), 17. Doreen Nabwire (Matuu), 18. Irene Momanyi, 19. Everline Sunde (both Kisii United), 20. Sharon Narotso (Wesstern Commando), 21. Josephine Aphina (MOYAS), 22. Mary Kinuthia (Matuu), 23. Marko Adan (National U20)

Strikers: 24. Esse Mbeyu (Matuu), 25. Claire Wanga (Makolanders), 26. Sharon Achieng (Kamaliza), 27. Elizabeth Mwikali, 28. Mildred Cheche (both MOYAS), 29. Milicent Mwanzi, 30. Mural Auma (both Old is Gold), 31. Doreen Akinyi Galacticos Youth), 32. Neddy Atieno (National U20 team)


2017 © Futaa.com