Kigali, Dar Es Salaam in race to host Kagame Cup

  Posted: 2 Aug 11, 20:51

By: Claudia Ekai

Kigali and Dar Es Salaam are racing to host next year’s Kagame Cup. This was highlighted by NewTimes of Rwanda which said that according to Secretary General Nicholas Musonye, Kigali and Dar es Salaam are the two finalists and the Confederation of East and Central African Football-CECAFA will reveal the hosts during November’s general assembly

Rwanda hosted the tournament in 2004, 2007 and 2010. Yanga are the current Kagame Cup Champions while their Coach Sam Timbe lifted his fourth Cecafa title after triumphs with Atraco (2009), Police (2006) and SC Villa (2005)

The tournament famously known as Kagame Cup is partly bankrolled by Rwanda President Paul Kagame, who injects US$60,000 (Approx. Kshs. 5.4 Million) for prize money

The teams which participated in the tournament include: Young Africans, Simba and Zanzibar giants Ocean Views, Ugandas Bunnamwaya, Ulinzi of Kenya, Ethiopias St. George, El-Merreikh and Al Hilal both of Sudan.Burundis Vital O, Port of Djibouti, Red Sea of Eritrea, Somalias Elman and Rwandas Etincelles, defending champions APR

More On

Kagame CECAFA Cup  


Related Articles

2017 ©