Drogba, Eto?o make final 10

  Posted: 30 Nov 09, 20:55


Chelsea lethal striker Didier Drogba and former Barcelona striker currently with Inter Milan - Samuel Etoo are the only two African players that have made the final ten in the run up to the 2009 European Player of the Year award christened the Ballon d’Or.

Either of the two will make history in becoming only the second African to win it should any lay claim to the award. The winner will be known tomorrow – 1st December 2009.

Liberia’s George Weah, who won it in 1995, is the only African player to have won it.

Other than Drogba and Etoo, Kaka and 2008 winner Cristiano Ronaldo, both of Real Madrid are in the list.

Barcelona quartet of Lionel Messi, Xavi, Andres Iniesta and Zlatan Ibrahimovic are part of the list. Liverpool’s Steven Gerrard and Manchester United’s Wayne Rooney complete the list

Complete list

Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast) Chelsea

Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon) Barcelona then Inter Milan

Lionel Messi (Argentina) Barcelona

Wayne Rooney (England) Manchester United

Kaka (Brazil) AC Milan then Real Madrid

Xavi (Spain) Barcelona

Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal) Manchester United then Real Madrid

Andres Iniesta (Spain) Barcelona

Steven Gerrard (England) Liverpool

Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden) Inter Milan then Barcelona


Related Articles

2017 © Futaa.com