AFC Leopards make it 21 unbeaten

  Posted: 28 Mar 12, 20:17

By: Brian Moseti

AFC Leopards emerged from a struggling first half to win 2-1 against 10-man KCB, in their Wednesday 28 March Kenyan Premier League match.

The match started on a high with each side gaining access to the other’s box. KCB maintained a better ball possession throughout the first 45 minutes, closing with a 64% against AFC’s 46%.

Second half

Coming into the second half, AFC turned out to be the surer side,  upsetting the possession to 59% against KCB’s 41%.

The renewed force was also reflected in the scores, three minutes in, with Robert Syongo, Victor Ochieng and Mike Baraza, connecting well with each other, for a goal bouncing off Baraza’s boot.

Syongo had received the ball on the right flank, and directed it towards KCB’s box, to find Ochieng, who back-heeled it for Baraza to seal the finish.


With KCB struggling to come back into the match, Ingwe relaxed and for a moment appeared to sink into defense, constantly frustrating KCB’s Paul Mungai’s  and Jacob Keli’s runs inland.

At the 78th minute, frustration appeared to get to Mungai who lodged a verbal attack on the second assistant referee, for what he appeared to describe as numerous unfair calls.

This single act earned him a red-card, further deepening his side’s woes.

 A minute later, Baraza, in a solo effort drove a thunderous shot past KCB’s keeper Kaleb Adola, to double Ingwe’s lead.


With the fate of the match appearing to be sealed, KCB’s Ezekiel Odera, who came in as 70th minute substitute for Michael Oyando, found the back of AFC’s net, to earn his side a consolation.

The win topped Ingwe's ever-flourishing record to 21 matches unbeaten besides enabling them maintain the top spot they have embraced since the start of the season.

AFC Leopards: 1. Patrick Matasi, 5. Edwin Wafula, 26.Robert Syongo, 17. Jonas Nahimana, 40. Eric Masika, 10.Charles Okwemba, 4. Martin Imbalambala [Cpt],18. Salim Kinje [70’ Oscar Kadenge], 34. Victor Ochieng, 9. Allan Wanga, 11.Mike Barasa

KCB: 22 Kaleb Adola, 13 Bethuel Warambo, 3 Milton Milimo, 12 Joseph Apindi, 2 Dennis Omondi, 14 Michael Oyando [70’ Ezekiel Odera, 7 Jacob Keli, 6 Elvis Ayany (Cpt), 18 Clifford Alwanga [62’ Peter Wainaina], 5 Mungai Kiongera, 11 Benjamin Chaka [57’ Bernard Meki]


Related Articles

2017 ©