Club licensing:Three clubs relegated from KPL

Only 15 teams will participate in the Kenya Premier League 2017 season after Sofapaka, Thika United and Muhoroni Youth got relegated for failing to comply with FIFA Club licensing requirements.

All clubs were required to comply with three categories of licensing where category A which covers financials and legal issues was mandatory. The three clubs failed to comply and they will automatically join the National Super League where they will be required to apply for a license and submit documents by 20th and hope to be in the league by the 30th January.

Not off the hook yet.

Failure to do so the will be further relegated to Division one where they will not require a license.

Tusker and Ulinzi Stars Tusker will play with a full license of compliance while the rest including promoted Zoo Kericho, Nzoia United and Nakumatt will play with a provisional license. Holders of provisional licenses will have until the mid season to have a full compliance, failure to comply which they will not take part in the 2018 league.

Football Kenya Federation President Nick Mwendwa confirmed that Tusker FC, Gor Mahia, Ulinzi Stars, Chemelil, Western Stima Kakamega Homeboyz, Mathare United, Sony Sugar, AFC Leopards, Posta Rangers Bandari, Kariobangi Sharks, Nzoia United, Zoo Kericho and Nakumatt FC are the team that will take part in top flight football this season.

About club licensing

Club licensing, as introduced during a FIFA congress in Munich in 2006, sets out standards and procedures by which clubs will be assessed as a basis for continuous improvement of many aspects of football.

Licensing monitors clubs in five key areas; sporting, infrastructure, legal, personnel, administrative, and finance. Licensing will apply to Football Kenya Federation member clubs.

All member associations are expected to comply with the requirements failure to which clubs from within respective associations will be shut out from continental assignments.

READ: NSL side to feel pinch after relegation