Fate of seven KPL clubs hanging in the balance, Oserian relegated

Seven Kenyan Premier League clubs that were forced to resubmit their club licensing papers for review have until this Friday 23 December to do so after which they will know if they will be playing in top flight football or in the lower tiers on Tuesday 3 January 2017.

Football Kenya Federation President Nick Mwendwa has revealed that the emergency NEC committee decided to extend the process for five days so that they do not lock out Posta Rangers, Muhoroni Youth, Mathare United, Western Stima, Sony Sugar, Sofapaka and Thika United plus newly promoted Nzoia United after they failed to meet the requirements in the previous submission. Two of the clubs have however resubmitted. 


-The committee met and ongoing scoring was done then seven clubs failed the criteria. There are three categories, A is mandatory and covers financials and legal issues. If it is not full-filled then next categories won’t be looked at. In the spirit of fairness after finding that seven clubs had not made it the emergency committee gave an extension 23rd noon Friday. They were well informed on the consequence and two have submitted their papers we are waiting for the five. The committee will meet on 3rd January to look at the papers then on 4th the NEC will pass resolutions and the number of the teams that will be in the league will be handed to KPL. We might have less that 18 teams if they meet the requirements. But we hope the will meet the requirements and stay, he said.

Teams that will fail to meet the requirements after the committee views their papers will be relegated. Those that will feel that they deserve another chance will be given a period of 14 days to submit their appeals and be given a hearing.

KPL and NSL 

Mwendwa insisted that there is no excuse for the clubs not to meet the Criteria since the Federation has been communicating to them and the rules that have put in place are being implemented worldwide revealing that the federation will have no mercy for teams that do not adhere to the stated deadline from both the first tier and the second tier. 

-We have been going through a sensitive process known as club licensing. It applies to KPL and NSL clubs. It started in April and we had series of events ranging from brief to communication to clubs. This are not our rules but they are being implemented at FIFA, CAF and FKF so they are mandatory and not optional. 16th December was final date of submission. All KPL and NSL clubs submitted except Oserian FC, [who have since been relegated], he said.

No more Oserian

The National Super League clubs have till 31 January 2017 to submit their papers but Naivasha based club Oserian will not play in the National Super League next season after failing to submit any documents and will now drop a rank down to Division One league.

-If you did not bring the documents then you are relegated so am sorry to say that Oserian FC will play Division on next season. If you did not submit the papers at the first round you are gone, he added.

Tusker FC, Ulinzi Stars, Kakamega Homeboyz and second tier side Wazito were among the first Premier League clubs to meet the requirements. Successful clubs will however not go into a slumber after the season kicks off since the vetting committee will be reevaluating every year to ensure the clubs are met. The clubs that also get a provisional license will have to maintain standards since it expires after six months after which if they fail, they will be relegated to the lower tiers.

Tusker and Ulinzi Stars are the only teams that have s far fully complied.  

READ: Clubs put on notice as FKF stands firm on licensing deadline.