No Kenyan reps as Mapinduzi fixtures are released

The Mapinduzi Cup is set to kick off on Saturday 31 December 2016 and end on Friday 13 January after the Zanzibar Football Federation released the dates and fixtures for the annual Cup tournament.

Just like last year, no Kenyan team will be participating in the tournament after AFC Leopards and Gor Mahia declined the invitation. AFC Leopards striker Paul Kiongera participated in the tournament when he was with Tanzanian side Simba together with Tusker FC hitman Allan Wanga also took part in the tourney while he was with also another Tanzanian side Azam in the 2015 edition.

Here are the fixtures
30 December 2016

Taifa ya Jang’ombe Vs Jang’ombe Boys 0200hrs

1 January 2017

KVZ Vs URA 1000hrs

Simba Vs Taifa ya Jang’ombe 0230hrs

2 January 2017

Azam Vs Zimamoto 1000hrs

Yanga Vs Jamhuri 0230hrs

3 January 2017

Jang’ombe Boys Vs URA 1000hrs

KVZ Vs Simba 0230hrs

4 January 2017

Zimamoto Vs Yanga 1000hrs

Jamhuri Vs Azam 0200hrs

5 January 2017

KVZ Vs Jang’ombe Boys 1000hrs

Simba Vs URA 0200hrs

6 January 2016

Taifa ya Jang’ombe Vs KVZ 0230hrs

7 January 2016

Jamhuri Vs Zimamoto 1000hrs

Yanga Vs Azam 0230hrs

8 January 2016

Simba Vs Jang’ombe Boys 1000hrs

Taifa ya Jang’ombe Vs URA 0230hrs

10 January 2017

First semifinal 1000hrs

Second semifinal 0230 hrs

13 January 2017

Final 0230hrs

URA from Uganda is the defending champion