NSL pair on alert as Tribunal set to rule on FKF/KPL league structure row

The National Super League 2016 season might have come to its end, but for yet another time a cloud of uncertainty eerily hangs on the exact composition of the Kenya Premier League teams for the 2017 season.

On 10 Saturday December, Kariobangi Sharks became the second team to seal the final automatic promotion slot leaving Zoo Kericho and Nakumatt at the mercy of yet another impasse between the Football Kenya Federation (FKF) and Kenya Premier League.

Defining moment

The two bodies have been at loggerheads over the composition of the league and despite the former fronting for an expanded 18 league team, the matter remains far from realized. The Tuesday of 13 December could be a defining moment regarding the matter as the Sport Tribunal makes  a ruling to determine on who gets his way as far as the long standing feud goes. The case hold dire significance for Zoo kericho and Nakumatt who finished in third and fourth in the concluded season.

FKF president Nick Mwenda admitted that the matter has been left to the legal body with a path towards a  conclusive stance due this week.