KPL Top 8: Muho stuns Gor Mahia to lift historic title

Kennedy Rono’s 62nd minute strike handed Muhoroni Youth their maiden Top flight Silverware beating defending champions Gor Mahia in the KPL top 8 final played at Nyayo Stadium on Sunday.

Muhoroni Youth came into this seeking to win the first ever trophy and after an hour of silence in the game they stroke with Francis Ochola intercepting Haroun Shakava’s pass, fed Rono who beat the offside trap, rounded oncoming Jerim Onyango and sent the ball in into the net.


Gor Mahia had enjoyed dominance from the start camping in Muhoroni’s half and kept on using both the left and right flank. Jacques Tuyisenge set up Meddie Kagere who shot straight to Farouk Shikhalo’s hands just after seven minutes of play.

Gor made another attempt at the eighth minute but George Odhiambo was not ready for Kagere’s cross from the right wing. Muho later responded on the other end with Samuel Ndungu sending in a powerful shot but Jerim Onyango denied him a goal with his powerful punch.

Free header

Tuyisenge once again found unmarked Kagere with a cross from the right but his free header bounced off the post. Gor later started to attack from the left but Shikhalo produced a heroic save to deny odhiambo a clear cut chance. Muho were lucky not to concede from a corner kick that came as a result of Shilakho's save. It was Mike Simiyu who was their saviour clearing the ball off the line.

Tuyisenge later hit the post in the opening minute of the second half after leaving Shikhalo well beaten. He also headed wide after being found by Karim Niyizimana in unmarked position.

Halted shortly

Despite the match being halted at the 83rd minute, Muho managed to hold on after resumption with Shikalo producing another save to deny Tiyusenge. The match ended with fans storming the pitch and the players plus the match officials had to flee into the changing rooms. Muhoroni are the fourth different side to win the Top 8 knockout tournament which has been previous won by Gor Mahia (2), Tusker (2), Ulinzi(1).

Starting XI: Faruk Shikhalo, Yusuf Mohammed, Mike Simiyu, Peter Okore, Kelvin Omondi, Abdalla Hamisi, Benjamin Mosah, Kennedy Rono, Moses Arita, Francis Ochola (James Ogada), Samuel Ndungu (Lwamba Bebeto)

Unused subs: Igweta Timothy, Paul ,Mboya, Victor Omune, Daniel Otieno, Calvince Omanga.

Starting XI: Jerry Onyango, Karim Nizigiyamana(Jacob Keli),  Eric Ouma, Musa Mohammed, Haron Shakava, Ernest Wendo(Godfrey Walusimbi), Meddie Kagere, Francis Kahata, Jacques Tuyisenge, George Odhiambo, Amos Nondi (Baron Oketch)

Unused subs:Boniface Oluoch, Luke Ochieng, Innocent Wafula,